Tip: Did you know that you can embed this poll in your own website or blog? You can also email this poll to your friends.
del.icio.us digg technorati Reddit YahooMyWeb Invite
It is with sadness that we announce that Twiigs will be shutting down on Mar 15, 2015. It's been our pleasure serving you over the past 8 years. If you'd like to download data of the polls you've created, you can follow this link or go to My Polls -> Download.

Status: Closed

Listing: Public

Created on March 21, 2011 by dbernstein@insidelacrosse.com

Ended April 20, 2011

Do you think the refs made the right call for Kyle Wharton's disallowed goal against Syracuse?
  • Yes
  • No
  • Too Close to Call
Created on Mar 21, 2011


Total Votes: 1,327

Comments (4):

comments 1 - 4 of 4
Posted on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:46 PM by utzman35:

When you look at the replay from behind the goal it clearly looks like Wharton was launching and would have been in the crease, with or without the push.

Goal Stands...Blue Jays go home!

Posted on Mar 21, 2011 at 3:31 PM by laxfanryk:

I will admit to being an orange fan, and to having a bias; just like Mr. Dixon. I doubt anyone who has an interest in this game doesn't love one and/or hate the other of these two outstanding institutions. The only question, given the examples, was whether the push was a foul or not. The check, when initiated; was from the side. Wharton turns away from the check to get the shot off.

Mr. Dixon afterwards pays lip service to refs' support; after questioning the judgement of the guy who had the play right in front of him; and who never wavered in his call. I could have lived with the call either way. Mr. Dixon's opinion doesn't hold up as well under close scrutiny.

Posted on Mar 22, 2011 at 8:23 AM by laf1111:

After reading ALL the opinions I'd like to throw 2 things out. First - it took 2 officials to make that call - one who would call the push (goal official looked at him before waiving off the goal) and one that saw Wharton land in the crease. I can't believe 2 officials at this level would get a call "wrong". Let's put this where it really lies - we're arguing the dive rule - period. The call was the correct call - attackmen are getting very good at diving when they feel contact - and it's not being called because of that contact. It doesn't make it right. The play was clearly a dive, was clearly called correctly by 2 officials on the field. The vast majority of fans hate the dive rule and that's what this "controversy" is really about isn't it ? We shouldn't be constantly questioning/challenging officials who are making calls based on the rules. It's like complaining because you got a speeding ticket for going 71. We don't like the law but we shouldn't second guess the policeman who writes the ticket - s/he is just doing their job. Let's put this energy into changing the rule instead of questioning officials.

Posted on Mar 24, 2011 at 11:34 AM by laxfan12:

Official that makes call is out uf position to make call because he can't see the push. Also it's Steve Miller so it's going to be an iffy call at best!

To post a comment, please Sign In or Register.