Tip: Did you know that you can embed this poll in your own website or blog? You can also email this poll to your friends.
del.icio.us digg technorati Reddit YahooMyWeb Invite
It is with sadness that we announce that Twiigs will be shutting down on Mar 15, 2015. It's been our pleasure serving you over the past 8 years. If you'd like to download data of the polls you've created, you can follow this link or go to My Polls -> Download.

Status: Closed

Listing: Public

Created on June 3, 2011 by dbernstein@insidelacrosse.com

Ended July 3, 2011

Was Steele Stanwick the right choice for the Tewaaraton Trophy?
  • Yes
  • No
Created on Jun 3, 2011


Total Votes: 1,934

Comments (6):

comments 1 - 6 of 6
Posted on Jun 3, 2011 at 10:13 AM by schleebo:

Player of THE YEAR? NOT!!!! Impressive playoff run? Maybe....

Posted on Jun 3, 2011 at 11:34 AM by dawleymj:

Steele Stanwick is rightly the NCAA Tournament MVP

award winner - The Tewaarton!

Now college lacrosse needs a PLAYER OF THE YEAR Award

like most other sports where the REGULAR season matters.

What a joke! Its time for the nitwits who make these decisions

to finally get it right.

Posted on Jun 3, 2011 at 1:54 PM by jimmycarterobama:

Obviously you haven't been following college lacrosse for very long. All of the prior Tewaaraton winners have WON the NCAA Championship except for three and of those three, two of them played in the NCAA Championship. Based on that criteria Stanwick clearly deserved this. Pannell, while a phenomenal player didn't even make it to the semi's. It is an award that emphasizes post-season team and individual success along with the regular season.

Posted on Jun 5, 2011 at 11:30 AM by astudent:

The move of Jeff Tambroni to Penn State _may_ have played a role in Cornell's loss in the tournament ... A less-experienced assistant coach who moved up to replace him, etc. It could be argued (and although that is the sport at IL, I am not interested.) My interest lies in the question: Did Jeff Tambroni's departure affect Pannell's chances for the Teewaarton and could his move to better his situation have hurt Rob Pannell's chances? (Not a Cornell of Virginia fan)

And could the Stanwick selection be more evidence of IL's ACC conspiracy? (That they are over-rated because they mainly play other ACC teams...[hahaha - 3 of 4 in the 2011 Finals were ACC!]) (I am also not an ACC fan)

Posted on Jun 6, 2011 at 6:53 AM by laxobserver:

Obviously, as confirmed by this year's awardee, the Tewaaraton Award is not given to the top varsity collegiate lacrosse player as advertised. It's given to the best player on a team that plays in the national championship game. The awardee Steele Stanwick was held scoreless in two regular season games and to one point in three other regular season games plus in the NC game. Some have given the excuse that Steele was injured part of the season but Rob Pannell played three games with a separated shoulder and managed to outscore Stanwick by 19 points playing the same number of games (17). Head to head they each scored 7 points in two games but against number one ranked Syracuse, Pannell scored 6 points (3-3) while Stanwick was held to 3 (2-1). I have no problem with giving the Tewaaraton Award to the player with the second best overall season performance so long as the award is described as being given to the best player on a team playing in the NC game - that describes Stanwick, a great player in his own right. If, instead, the trophy is supposed to be an individual award to be given to the "top male and female varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States" as specifically stated in the event program, that was Rob Pannell.

Posted on Jun 7, 2011 at 5:33 AM by jcglax:

I have no problem with this award being more about selecting the player who guides his team to overcoming challenges and winning a national title. That's the very definition of leadership. Steele possessed the type of poise and grit that enabled what should have been a demoralized and beleaguered squad to battle on despite off-the-field baggage, suspensions, and injuries. If this award were merely about crunching numbers, we should name the winner at the end of the regular season with the highest point totals and call it an MVP Award. Instead, the Tewaaraton recognizes character and excellence in leadership. That's what distinguishes college lacrosse from college football, which doesn't seem to take such vital life skills into account in selecting its Heisman winner each December. Hence, we have dozens of Heisman winners with rather underwhelming NFL careers. (Full disclosure: not from UVA. Went to MD and Stanwick's arch rival high school).

To post a comment, please Sign In or Register.